Thursday, September 10, 2015

Datuk Penang

In conjunction to the 77th birthday of the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas of Penang, a total of 1275 people were listed as the recipients of awards to be bestowed by the Yang Dipertua Negeri. Leading the recipients is the Auditor-General Tan Sri Ambrin Buang. He is receiveing the "Darjah Panglima Pangkuan Negeri (DPPN) which carries the title Datuk Seri".

A. Darjah Panglima Pangkuan Negeri (DPPN) which carries the title Datuk Seri.
- The Auditor-General Tan Sri Ambrin Buang.
- Tan Sri Dr Yahaya Ibrahim, a major contributor to the country’s education system,
- Royal Malaysian Air Forces chief Jen Tan Sri Roslan Saad,
- Penang Cheshire Home president Datuk Seri Khoo Keat Siew,
- Jit Sin Schools board chairman Datuk Seri Teh Aik Lum
- Penang Turf Club senior committee member Datuk Seri Teh Choon Beng.

B:  Darjah Gemilang Pangkuan Negeri (DGPN), which carries the title Datuk Seri
The recipients are: - .Datuk Mohamed Ismail Mohamed Othman, the political secretary to Tourism and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, and Universiti Utara Malaysia vice-chancellor Datuk Mohamed Mustafa Ishak will be conferred the Darjah Gemilang Pangkuan Negeri (DGPN), which also carries the title Datuk Seri. The other recipients are High Court judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin, Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim, SAA Resources Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datuk Shaik Aqmal Shaik Alaudin and Eastern & Oriental Bhd (E&O) managing director Datuk Terry Tham Ka Hon.

C: Dar­jah Yang Mulia Pangkuan Negeri (DMPN), which carries the title Datuk.
The following twelve people are the Penang Human Resources Liaison Committee chairman Datuk Ajit Singh Jessy, Nikaco Holdings Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Chin Poh Chye, Datuk Dr K. Arunasalam, social justice advocate Datuk Thasleem Mohamed Ibrahim, East Design Architect Sdn Bhd principal architect Datuk Jong East Full and Finance Ministry corporate strategy and communication division secretary Datuk S. Kumaran. Datuk Mohamed Mydin Mohd Musa, who is Dr Mohamad Mydin & Rakan-Rakan Sdn Bhd executive chairman, Tatt Giap Group Berhad chairman Datuk Siah Kok Poay, Lembaga Tabung Haji senior general manager Datuk Syed Saleh Abdul Rahman, Smart Locations Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Tean Kok Pin, Pertubuhan Warisan Jawi Peranakan Pulau Pinang president Datuk Dr Wazir Jahan Begum Abdul Kadir and former Bukit Aman’s Integrity and Standard Compliance Department (JIPS) director Datuk Zubaidah Md Ismail.

D: Forty-eight others will receive the Darjah Setia Pangkuan Negeri (DSPN) which carries the title Datuk.
They include Chong Company Sdn Bhd managing director Chan Fock Seng, legendary musical maestro Ooi Eow Jin, Penang Consumer Protection Association president Korisatan Karuppiah and PBA Holdings Bhd chief executive officer Jaseni Maidinsa.

Normally the awards giving is a local Malaysian affairs. However, for this year, there are two foreigners. The Two Hong Kong nationals – Tan Hock E (Hon) and Wong See Sum (Hon) – were among the recipients for DSPN. This was for their contribution and services towards the development of Penang.